MyHometownPost Brands

Kay County Assessor no longer going to each city to collect exemptions and assessment papers due to COVID-19

SHARE NOW

The following is a letter from Kay County Assessor Janell Leaming:

 

To Whom it May Concern;

Due to Covid-19, the Kay County Assessor will no longer be going to each city to collect exemptions and assessment papers. This is to continue to keep residents safe and healthy. All applications and personal property renditions are due March 15, 2022. Below is a brief description of each application and information regarding personal property. All applications and assessments will be accepted in the Kay County Assessor’s office from 8:00 AM – 4:30 PM.

Homestead Exemption saves an average of $90 each year on property tax. All homeowners who own and reside in their primary home on January 1st can apply for this exemption. Applications received after March 15th will be applied to the following year. Homeowners are required by state law to notify the Assessor’s office if they have moved or are no longer eligible for exemptions.

Additional Homestead can double tax savings. This exemption is for households who have a gross income of less than or equal to $25,000. Applicants over the age of 65 do not have to re-apply each year.

Senior Valuation Limitation “freezes” the assessed value of the real estate until the property is sold, remodeled, or no longer occupied. Applicants must be 65 with a verified gross income of less than or equal to $59,300 for the preceding year. ACTUAL TAX DOLLARS MAY CHANGE DUE TO BOND ISSUES OR MILAGE ADJUSTMENTS.

Claim for Credit or Refund of Property Tax is available to households whose income did not exceed $12,000 the previous year. This application may be obtained in the Assessor’s Office and sent to the Oklahoma Tax Commission on or before June 30, 2022 by the applicant.

Five-Year Manufacturing Exemption is an Oklahoma State exemption to attract new businesses and encourage existing manufacturers to expand. Please call 580-362-2565 to request an information packet.

Manufactured Home Homestead Exemption is available to persons 62 years of age and better, who is head of household, a resident of, and domiciled in Oklahoma during the entire preceding calendar year. The household gross income must not have exceeded $29,650 the previous year.

Personal Property Renditions for both farm equipment and businesses must be declared in the Assessor’s Office each year by March 15th. These renditions are mailed from the Assessor’s Office on the first business day in January. You must make any changes on this form, including if you no longer have a business or farm machinery, and return to the Assessor’s Office on or before March 15th, 2002. Any rendition received after March 15th will receive a penalty.

Personal Property Renditions for mobile homes and lease land are mailed from the Assessor’s Office on the first business day in January. These renditions do not need to be returned UNLESS THERE ARE CHANGES of ownership to personal property.

*Verification of income from the preceding year, including but not limited to social security income, is to be provided to the Assessor’s office by the applicant.

For additional information, please contact our office at 580-362-2565.

Sincerely,

Janell Leaming

Kay County Assessor