MyHometownPost Brands

Traci McHenry is PCPS 2022 District Teacher of the Year


Union Elementary School second grade teacher Traci McHenry has been selected as the new Ponca City Public Schools 2022 District Teacher of the Year! The announcement was made at the Virtual Teacher of the Year Celebration held on April 29 in the Concert Hall.


The Celebration started with Superintendent Shelley Arrott giving the opening remarks. 


Bret Smith, Executive Director of Operations, introduced the 2021 Teacher of the Year Keri Bartley who talked about her year as District Teacher of the Year. At the conclusion of her speech, Bret presented her with a gift from the district. 


A media presentation using the Wildcat theme was shown highlighting each TOY candidates, produced by Chris Adams, Broadcast Engineer. 


Curtis Layton, Executive Director of Human Resources, introduced this year’s nominees. As each candidate was introduced, quotes from their principal and students were read. Each candidate was presented a beautiful statue, along with a certificate from the district, and Chamber Bucks from the Ponca City School Foundation. Assisting with the presentations were, Barbara Cusick, Executive Director of Curriculum, Mrs. Teri Vogele, Associate Director of Elementary Curriculum, and Mrs. Nancy Zimmerschied, President, Board of Education.


Shelley Arrott made the big announcement of the 2022 District Teacher of the Year – Drum roll please – The 2022 District Teacher of the Year is TRACI MCHENRY!!!  


Shelley Arrott and Curtis Layton presented McHenry with a statue, flowers, and a $500 check from the Ponca City School Foundation, Inc.  Arrott read a special Citation of Commendation from State Senator Bill Coleman and State Representative Ken Luttrell from the State of Oklahoma.  


In closing, Superintendent Shelley Arrott congratulated the finalists and each site’s TOY.  “Thank you so much for all you do for our students!” 


Pictured at top: New PCPS 2022 Teacher of the Year Traci McHenry & PCPS Superintendent Shelley Arrott


Group Photo of all TOY Candidates L-R: Paula Macpherson-Cochran, Kelsey Fortney, Kendra Smith, Terry Wetzel, Irene Sanchez, Cherie Brigman-Hampl, Holly Stein, Valerie Fisher, Traci McHenry, Terri Wilson, Jill Klein, Kathryn Combs, Stacy Penney, Shelley Arrott