MyHometownPost Brands

NOC Tonkawa Cheerleading Open Gym, Tryouts


Tryouts for the 2017-2018 Northern Oklahoma College Tonkawa Cheer Team are scheduled for Sunday, April 9 in the Foster-Piper Fieldhouse from 2-5 p.m. Tryouts will include stunting, tumbling, fight song, and a home cheer. In addition, open gym sessions will be held on Sundays, March 5 and 26, and April 2, from 2-4 p.m. in the Wellness Center, according to Coach Karri Morrill.

Prospective cheerleaders should bring a signed tryout waiver, a letter of recommendation and the completed information sheet from the tryout information packet. All of the paperwork requirements may be found on the NOC Website, cheerleader’s page at

“As a member of the 2017-2018 Northern Oklahoma College coed cheerleading squad, you will support the Mavericks and also earn college credit. Other benefits NOC cheerleaders might receive include dollar amounts applied specifically towards tuition waiver, dormitory room and/or books. The complete cheerleading scholarship is equal to approximately $2,000 per semester. All cheerleaders must meet NOC admission requirements, pass a minimum of 12 credit hours and maintain a 2.00 grade-point average each semester,” Morrill said. “We are also looking for a Maverick Mascot and anyone interested should contact me. The Mascot will receive a partial tuition waiver scholarship and will participate in all team activities throughout the year.”

“The open gym times on Sunday afternoons are for learning stunting techniques and improving your skills only. It’s a fun and open environment and a great way to meet those that will be trying out to relieve stress about the tryouts,” she added.

For more information, contact Morrill at 580.716.3125 or by email at [email protected]. More details regarding the clinic and tryouts are available at

Rallying the Northern Oklahoma College Tonkawa Maverick basketball teams during the 2016-17 season are, in front from left to right, Ariana Rodriguez, Cheyenne Bear, Keely Martin, Desmond Deleon, Katelynn Purdy, Hannah Morrill, Allison White, Paige McCaskey, Ashton LaBlue and Ireya Calderon; in back (l to r) are Jared Walker, Michael Czapansky, Terrell Thurber, Nicholas Releford, Braden Weese, Caleb Fueshko and Josh Mayo.